Amy’s Book of the Week!

51O5o-cFKQL

Disclaimer- I want to be best friends with Mindy Kaling, so my review is going to be biased because I adore her.  She’s one of my spirit animals.  But, since it’s my book of the week so I can be biased if I want.  😛

Mindy Kaling has lived many interesting lives: the small, chubby daughter of immigrant professionals, a college student who impersonates Ben Affleck in an off-Broadway play and a successful comedy writer for Saturday Night Live, The Office and The Mindy Project.  She was also afraid of her bicycle, in love on and off with BJ Novak and a hilarious actress prone to starting fights with her friends with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?”  If you want to know what makes Mindy a great best friend, what makes a guy awesome, what the perfect amount of fame is, or why she uses revenge fantasies for jogging motivation, this is the book for you.

Mindy (I call her by her first name since we’re besties), writes about everything you want to know- The Office, what Steve Carrell and Rainn Wilson are like in real life, strict instructions for her funeral and why you should never peak in high school.  The book includes small pieces that she calls “pliest”, which is a piece with a list-y quality.  It’s a strange, interesting and laugh out loud funny book.  If you like Mindy Kaling at all, read it.  If you don’t like her, I don’t understand you and we should probably talk so I can convince you that she’s awesome and then you should read this book.


Leave a Reply

